Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28022

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/22/2013

RE: Professional

Keith Taylor of Cumbria, Please select ... United Kingdom asks...

England v Germany
England's goalkeeper misjudged coming out for the ball on the edge of the box.The mis judgement caused him to double handed push his own player in the back in an attempt to get at the ball. Should he not have been penalised or is pushing your own player in the back acceptable?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Keith
A player cannot be guilty of fouling a teammate in a challenge for the ball. Fouls can only be committed against an opponent. So in this sitaution there was no offece by the England goalkeeper
A player can be guilty though of violent conduct, spitting or using offensive, insulting and abusive language against a teammate for which he is sent off. The restart is an indirect free kick from where the offence took place.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

In order for a foul to be called there have to be three things:
1. The ball must be play
2. The infraction must be on the field of play
3. The infraction must be against an OPPONENT.

However, misconduct may be made against a teammate but never a foul

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28022
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29128

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.