Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29128

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/24/2015

RE: Rec College

Jim morris of Sale, Uk asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28022

Ia a player allowed to assist a teammate to reach a headed ball

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jim
No. That would be deemed unsporting behaviour and after the player is cautioned the restart is an indirect free kick from where the offence took place.
Sometimes in a group of player it is difficult to call that a player has unfairly climbed on the back of a team mate to gain height. There will be certainly no appeal from his team mate when he does that.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Technically no, it is cautionable USB action
you can not say lift a short player up on your shoulder or raise him up with your hands . I have seen a player use a fallen opponent as well as a team mate like a stool to jump off of to get higher while playing but not while refereeing. Not legal but effective if unseen or unnoticed. Plus players often get arms and elbows up onto of a opponent's shoulders to get more lift and deny theirs or hold them down. Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


In the rugby sense; no. A player can not directly aid a teammate by boosting him to reach a high cross. As Referee McHugh notes, this is unsporting behavior and the guilty player would be shown the yellow card.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29128
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.