Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33733

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/25/2019

RE: Freshman High School

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33730

Ref Joe asked about the circumstances leading to my decision:

Keeper saved the ball near the goal line. He is holding the ball in his hands and walks out to the top of the PA, then drops the ball. He hovers over the ball as a nearby attacker closes in. After about 3 seconds and the attacker about to challenge for the ball, the keeper picks the ball up with his hands.

I do not know why he dropped it in the first place, but the fact that he did not immediately pick it up lead me to believe this was intentional and not accidental. I also thought I saw him dribble the ball once with his foot, but I could be mistaken. Regardless, I determined that he released the ball from his hands and therefore he had given up his ability to handle the ball again.

The situation you described with parrying the ball reminds me of a video a while ago but I can't find. Keeper easily taps the rolling ball away with his hand, then dribbles, then picks up the ball. Referee determined the push of the hand was control of the ball and not a save/deflection, therefore he couldn't pick it up after he dribbled.

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Derek,
Your description makes it clear that the keeper, after being in control of the ball with the hands, has released it and then touched it again before it has touched another player. It does not read as if the exception to this offence where the ball has rebounded from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save, applies so you were completely right to award the indirect free kick. As ref McHugh mentions, this is a relatively rare offence, especially when it's as clear an example of a non-save, non-rebound as you describe.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Derek
Thanks for the clarification
Usually goalkeepers are tuned into a clear catch, hold and release so I was curious of why he would have protested the IDFK. It reads certainly that it was intentional.
I have seen saves were the ball was not held and the goalkeeper dribbles the ball before picking it up. Possible parry but also doubtful on a save.
I recall an incident similar to what you describe between AC Milan and Glasgow Celtic where the Milan goalkeeper moved the ball with his hand on a weak shot, dribbled it and then picked it up which was punished by an IDFK by Referee Wolfgang Stark. Certainly got the media animated at the time as they thought it was a back pass call that was punished incorrectly yet it was a parry.
This is how one Italian commentator reported on it
* In the 16th minute German referee Stark gave a rather bizarre free-kick to Celtic in the Milan penalty area, the indirect free-kick from Mulgrew was blocked almost on the line by De Jong*

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33733
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33734

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>