Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33860

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 1/29/2020

RE: Rec Under 11

Joe Schmitt of LOUISVILLE, KY us asks...

During the grassroots referee re-certification training, they pointed out two things that appear incorrect but just checking to ensure I didn't miss something:
- during penalty kick, the keeper cannot move
- during throw-in, the feet could not be in front of the line

In reviewing the laws, I didn't see where either law changed to exclude the above.
Is this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joe
There is a phrase that states that the meaning of communication is the response one get. I recently spoke to a group of referees about positioning at corner kicks as a single official. I had occasion some time later to observe a referee standing in the IFAB recommended position for three officials. He told me that is where I said referees should stand? That is not what I said yet in some way the referee interpreted that I did.
So in the two statements on the face of it are not entirely correct. In Law 14 a goalkeeper must have one foot on the line yet he can move along the line. He *cannot move* completely off the line before the kick yet he can move keeping on foot on the line.
On the throw in statement the feet cannot be in front of the line but they can be over the line provided part of both feet are on the line. So again a foot cannot be completely over the line at a throw in.
In summary all that has changed in the two Laws is that in Law 14 the goalkeeper now only has to have one foot on the line rather than two as in the past. Other than that it is as it has been for a long time.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Joe,
the keeper can move but must have one foot in contact with the goal line prior to the PK occurring.
The throw in myth is drill alive and well I see. Sigh. The touchline is the 5 inch line & a 12 inch boot can be INSIDE THE FOP 11.99 inches as long as the heel if said boot is in contact with the tiniest bit of the inner 5 inch line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Joe,
In both cases, it depends slightly on what was meant. For the first one, it is pretty much incorrect - goalies are allowed to move at a penalty kick, although there are of course some restrictions. Specifically, the goalkeeper cannot move completely off the line before the kick is taken and must have at least one foot on or above the line.

At a throw-in, the player's feet can be partly in front of the line but not completely. Some part of each foot must be on or behind the line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33860
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33870

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>