Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33870

Law 18 - Common Sense 2/4/2020

RE: Competitive Adult

Dan Paolini of Eastampton, New Jersey United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 33860

I have seen people misinterpret this statement in the Outline Summary of Law Changes for Law 14 on page 151 (en):

The goalkeeper must not be touching the goalposts/crossbar/nets; they must not be moving.

as meaning that the goalkeeper (who is not a 'they') cannot be moving. The wording summarizes that the kick shall not be taken while the goalposts/crossbar/nets are still moving. I fear this may become one of those myths of the game...

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dan
Interesting observation however the wording in Law 14 states **The ball must be stationary on the penalty mark and the goalposts, crossbar and goal net must not be moving*
Throw in one foot on the line and I doubt anyone could interpret that the goalkeeper could not be moving!

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Dan,
Yes, I suppose some people, who have only read that summary, could potentially take it the wrong way. However as ref McHugh correctly points out, the actual wording leaves us in no doubt that the ''must not be moving'' part refers only to the goal frame and nets, not the goalkeeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Dan,
the very state of physics suggests everything is moving all of the time. lol but for soccer this section of the law would be so the keeper is not rocking the posts or crossbar, which would be difficult but if done proves they are very unsafe! And if a wind was doing so chances are the game should not be played!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33870
Read other Q & A regarding Law 18 - Common Sense

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>