Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34358

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/27/2021

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...


I want to ask question about penalty kicks given in the last moment of a half.

As far as I know, such a penalty kick is supposed to be the last incident in that half and therefore if the penalty kick goes out of play or deflected back into the play by either goalkeeper or goal posts, the referee blows the final whistle.

My question is, can such a penalty be taken as a tap penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Creb,
if the full duration of playing time be it at half -time or the full match time HAS occured ONLY an extended PK is permitted. When the PK is being takeng in extended time only 2 players can participte, the attacking designsted kicker and the defending keeper. In this case, NO, you can not tap it for a team mate to run into the ball. For all intent and purposes the rest of the 20 players should leave the FOP so as not to intefere. An EXTENDED PK means ALL Time INCLUDING, added time, has been used. There is only time permitted to await an outcome by allowing the ball to use up its intial momentume at the taking of the PK . It is my opinion that an EXTENDED PK should be ANNOUNCED as such! So that NO follow up play could create additional misconduct unneccessatily

It is certainly plausible to award a PK near the end of the half or match & then to add on time, after, the restart of play. You can signal the PK to commence, he could tap it and a non encroaching attacker could score, assuming he got there quick enough , restart kick off but blow after the ball gets to center so you do not have to chase it down old referee trick lol This is NOT an extended PK, simply one where the added time sequence is not fully dialed in thus allowing for a few more seconds to play. It could allow for the chance of a rebound or even goal or corner kick it wil depend in how much time the referee has decided to add. I

A referee has the responsibiliy & duty to ensure ALL match time is accounted for and can stop time and recover it in the best interest of the match later. If there is still a few seconds left in the match you can begin the PK & await an outcome of sorts but remember it is as unsporting to allow too much time as it is to arbitrarily shorten it. Be Fair as neutral officials we do obey the LOTG as well as address its overall spirit!


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Crebs,
As the wording of the law quoted by Ref McHugh says, another outfield player is not allowed to touch the ball after the initial kick, so a "tap penalty" is not allowed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Crebs
Both the tap penalty and the last kick of the game penalty awards are so rare that it is highly unlikely ever to test a referee in a game situation. I have never encountered either and I have only ever seen the tap penalty on the web.

The Laws of the Game tells us and I quote
**the half is extended until the penalty kick is completed.**
**When additional time is allowed, the penalty kick is completed when, after the kick has been taken, the ball stops moving, goes out of play, is played by any player (including the kicker) other than the defending goalkeeper, or the referee stops play for an offence by the kicker or the kicker’s team. If a defending team player (including the goalkeeper) commits an offence and the penalty is missed/saved, the penalty is retaken..**

So the tap penalty is not allowed as per the law nor any follow up play by the kicker or by a defender other than the goalkeeper. The kicker is told that he has one kick and that no subsequent follow up play is allowed. The referee awaits for tbe outcome of the kick so if it rebounds with no hope of the ball entering tne goal the half is ended with an immediate whistle. If it hits the post, then the goalkeeper and then enters the goal the goal is good. Referees should be proactive and tell all the players to move away from the penalty area as no follow up play is allowed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34358
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 34364

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>