Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question 51 thru 60 of 20744

[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/16/2023

Doug Crawford of Folsom, CA US asks...

Hi there - player A (USA) commits a careless pushing foul, pushing by both continues for 2 seconds, then player B (Mexico) commits a reckless tripping foul.
Which team gets the free kick, after player B is cautioned and shown the yellow card? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 3 - The Players 6/12/2023

Greg S of SLO, CA USA asks...

Red B16 team attacking in defender Blue’s penalty area. Red takes a shot on goal and it goes off a Blue player and over the goal line for a corner kick. The ball rolls quite some distance with Red #5 chasing it and, this being a city park, ends up un...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/2/2023

Eric Owusu Mensah of Kumasi , Ashanti Ghana asks...

After carefully watching the Roma vs Servile match,I want your outfit to explain to me how to interpret the following.
1.Was the referee right for not taking the penalty for Roma?
2.If yes please do explain to me....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/1/2023

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...


I am curious how should the referee decide in the following scenarios.

1) The ball hits player A10's arm accidentally, player A10 takes a shot which seems to be off target. Then the ball hits the goalkeeper of team B and get...

Read The Full Q & A

Kicks From The Penalty mark 5/30/2023

Isk of Bs As, Bs As Argentina asks...

Hi, I've got a question that I cannot find the exact case in the IFAB or FIFA rules.
In a penalty shootout, what happens, when the ball hits any of the bars or even the goalkeeper, and comes in the opposite direction and turns back because of wi...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/26/2023

Larry of Danville, California United States asks...

The following is copied from Law 5 FAQ’s:
QUESTION: Two players from different teams commit an offense at the same time: a player from Team A challenges for the ball in a reckless manner a player from Team B strikes an opponent with excessive fo...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/21/2023

Chester of Fairfield, CT USA asks...

In a youth cup match yesterday the defender made a clearance within their penalty area. It hit her teammate's arm which was well away from the body. This would been have been a handling offense if it was in the middle of the pitch as this was an "unn...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/16/2023

Daphné of Montreal, Quebec Canada asks...

I know that a player cant charge a goalkeeper once they have the ball in their hands, but can the goalkeeper charge a player once in control of the ball in their hands? Or is considered an unfair advantage as the player cant do anything to get the ba...

Read The Full Q & A


Greg of SLO, CA US asks...

Responding to Referee Wright’s comment about myths. I am continually amazed how myths about the LOTG start, and how long they persist. Just yesterday, after cautioning a player for delaying a quick restart on a DFK (after his coach told him to do it)...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 2 - The Ball 5/11/2023

Gary Robinson of Draper, UT USA asks...

During a recent match, I had a coach constantly question whether the match ball was properly inflated or not. I had checked all three balls prior to the match and they felt fine (I didn't use a gauge pre-match). When he first questioned me, I waited ...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.