Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question 31 thru 40 of 20692

[Previous] [Next]

High School 3/17/2023

DAVID LAZOr of LEESBURG, VA United States asks...

In a high school soccer game my player scored a goal and in his celebration steps off the field, 1 or 3 yards off. The referee gives him a yellow card for not getting permission to leave the field. I have never heard of this rule. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/15/2023

Nicholas Broderick of Lewis Lake, Nova Scotia Canada asks...

A defending goalkeeper traps a slow, rolling shot on his/her goal *using only his/her chest* inside the penalty area - the ball does not touch his/her hands. No attacker is close enough to challenge, and, mistakenly believing the goalkeeper has taken...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 3/11/2023

Zluvka of Liberec, Northern Bohemia Czech Republic asks...

Are your 2017 answers still valid today? (I read somewhere that this does not apply to the goalkeeper's throw. The decisive moment is said to be before he releases the ball from his hand.) Thank you. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - The Throw In 3/11/2023

Ben of Merrimack, New Hampshire United States asks...

When throwing the ball into play from a throw in can your foot be on the line? I’m not sure if your foot can be on the line and it gets called or if your foot has to be completely onto the field....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/11/2023

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...


What if it is a save by the goalkeeper instead of a rebound from the goal post?

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/10/2023

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...


I have a question regarding the handball rule.

The rule states it is an offence if a player scores in the opponents’ goal:
- directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper
- immediat...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/9/2023

Doug Crawford of Folsom, CA US asks...

Hello referees - hypothetical attacker handball:
The ball accidentally strikes a player on the arm. The player shoots on goal and the ball hits the goal post and comes back to the same player who shoots and scores.

LOTG Law 12 says...

Read The Full Q & A

Mechanics 3/9/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Thank you. The VAR assessment is a bit strange. Imagine that there is an attacker A15 alone. A15 shoots wide. Then VAR seems to be silent. Everything changes defender B8. A little unfair, it seems. :-)

Have a nice day!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/8/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


I'm suprisingly here again. Tuesday inspired me. We all know what I'm going to write about :-)

VAR handbook says this about penalty kicks:

Encroachment can only be reviewed if:

• an attacker who enc...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 3/7/2023

LD Maya of San Mateo, CA USA asks...

Is a Player who took a throw-in, and not entered the field, counted for offside position? (please use LotG, FIFA or federation/league guidelines)

1. Throw-in is taken by Red2, on their own half, towards the Blue goal.

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.