Law 1 Field of Play
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Law 14 - The Penalty kick
Question 31 thru 40 of 115

[Previous] [Next]

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/6/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


I have problem with two parts of the Law 14 - The Penalty kick.

Part 1) Player of both teams offends the Laws of the Game, the kick is retaken
unless a player commits a more serious offence (e.g. illegal feinting)

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/3/2019

Craig Osborn of Johannesburg, Gauteng South Africa asks...

What is the rule on encroachment into the penalty area? If a player has a foot grounded outside the penalty area as the ball is struck by the penalty taker, however he has started his movement towards the ball and although parts of his body are over ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/14/2019

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , CA Sacratomato asks...

I was looking for feedback if anyone had any. I have read lots of articles from random places. Some, claimed that one of the rule changes was that the PK was completed and over if it was blocked by keeper or if it hit the goal posts. Other articles c...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/9/2019

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , Ca Sacratomato asks...

Big debate amongst colleagues... on a penalty kick in the middle of the game, goalie blocks a PK, can the attacker score on the second touch? I am being told no but I can't find anything in the rule book that says play is over as soon as goalie block...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/2/2019

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

At a penalty kick, when both the kicker and goal keeper offend and; a) a goal is scored, the kicker is cautioned and an IDFK is given to the opponents.
b) a goal is not scored, both kicker and keeper are cautioned and the kick is retaken....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/19/2019

Rocky of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

Q1. In a penalty kick, can the kicker score a goal if the ball has rebounded off the post?

Q2. As per the new laws, since defending players are allowed to receive the ball inside the penalty area, what if the goalkeeper accidentally throws t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/15/2019

Jose hernandez of Duarte, Ca Usa asks...

1. Just Before a kick-off an opponent enters the circle.what would be the restart?

2. The ball is in play from a penalty kick when?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/2/2019

Sahid Mohamad of Champaign, Illinois USA asks...

With the new penalty rules, can the goalkeeper still move from side to side, jump in place or wave arms during a penalty kick?or is the goal keeper not allowed to move until the shot is taken?
The part on not touching the goal posts, crossbar and...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/19/2019

John J. O'Hara of Berlin, NJ United States asks...

The June 1st allowance of a goalkeeper being allowed one step off goal-line on a penalty is fairer in my opinion. Why did they wait right before the World Cup to institute this? (causes goalkeeper confusion) Will this new update on Law 14 appear in n...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/17/2019

YVES A VIDAURRE of WESTMINSTER, CO United States asks...

WWC - Yellow card shown to goalies for moving off of the line before ball is struck. Why are yellow cards not also shown to players that have encroached in the penalty area before the ball is struck?
VAR focusing on the goalies seems incredibly ...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>